Kylie Phillips

ImageKylie Phillips has taken Dr. Petrich’s Coverage of Public Affairs class, Broadcast Journalism and Advanced Broadcast Journalism class. With South Florida Journal, Kylie helps with mentoring Broadcast students, writing, editing and helping with the creative image team.

What would you like to do once you graduate: I’d like to work for an online media site or local magazine, like New Times.

What was your favorite part of working on SFJ: The feel of an actual work environment. This was the first and only class that really immerses you in a journalism workspace. Dr. Petrich lets us take care of a majority of the hands on roles.

Name one memorable experience from SFJ: I was assigned to cover the South Florida Wildlife Center’s budget crisis. After interviewing the center’s director, I was given an great behind the scenes tour of the center and it’s animals. This instance just showed what kind of experiences this class can cultivate.

How will your apply what you learned in broadcast journalism to the real world: At the moment I’m trying to use my audio and radio skills to help my work (Whole Foods Market) start a podcast.

One random fact about you: I was raised my full-time traveling artists. I probably got to see the whole east coast before I was 6.

Leave a comment